BH-Range3

Maricopa County Parks and Recreation

Shooting Range

RESERVATION SYSTEM DISCONTINUED: The Main Range reservation system has been discontinued; time blocks have been abolished and range fees have returned to pre-COVID-19 levels.
Trap & Skeet and Archery field reservations are no longer required, or taken.

 

PRE-PAY RANGE FEES ONLINE [NEW]: You may now pre-pay your Main Range fees online through the ASRPA Shopping Cart. Pre-paying your range fees allows you to proceed directly to the Main Range's Tower thereby avoiding check-in and fee payment inside the Store, and saving you time and waiting in line.

Please visit Arizona State Rifle and Pistol Association (ASRPA) for complete information, including how to make reservations.

July August September
  • Friday, July 2
  • Saturday, July 3
  • Sunday, July 4*
  • Friday, July 9
  • Saturday, July 10
  • Sunday, July 11
  • Friday, July 16
  • Saturday, July 17
  • Sunday, July 18
  • Friday, July 23
  • Saturday, July 24
  • Sunday, July 25
  • Friday, July 30
  • Saturday, July 31

*Independence Day

  • Sunday, Aug. 1
  • Friday, Aug. 6
  • Saturday, Aug. 7 
  • Sunday, Aug. 8
  • Friday, Aug. 13
  • Saturday, Aug. 14
  • Sunday, Aug. 15
  • Friday, Aug. 20
  • Saturday, Aug. 21
  • Sunday, Aug. 22
  • Friday, Aug. 27
  • Saturday, Aug. 28
  • Sunday, Aug. 29
  • Friday, Sept. 3
  • Saturday, Sept. 4
  • Sunday, Sept. 5
  • Friday, Sept. 10
  • Saturday, Sept. 11
  • Sunday, Sept. 12
  • Friday, Sept. 17
  • Saturday, Sept. 18
  • Sunday, Sept. 19
  • Friday, Sept. 24
  • Saturday, Sept. 25
  • Sunday, Sept. 26
To download a hardcopy of the July thru September schedule, click here.

 

 

Please review the safety and instruction video above prior to visiting the Joe Foss Shooting Range. First time shooters will be asked to watch the video again when they visit the range. Range Safety Officers are on-site at the range to answer questions.

PLEASE NOTE:  There is no landline at the range.  If you have questions not addressed on this page please email them to:  asrpajoefossrange@gmail.com.

The General Joe Foss Shooting Complex is located in the Buckeye Hills Regional Park, just five (5) miles south of Buckeye, Arizona. The park is located about 10.5 miles south of I-10 on S.R. 85. For those with a GPS, the Lat and Lon is 112.64255 and 33.27679.

About the General Joe Foss Shooting Complex

Operating hours
 

Friday: 7:30 a.m. to noon*
Saturday: 7:30 a.m. to noon*
Sunday: 7:30 a.m. to noon*

*Revised schedule to be posted after September 6, 2021

Directions

The Joe Foss public range is located in the Buckeye Hills Regional Park, located 10.5 miles south of I-10 Exit 112 on SR85. The exit is immediately after Mile Marker 144. To download directions, click here.

Daily Public Fees

• Adults - $7 per shooter
• Active Duty Military and Law Enforcement - $5 per shooter
• Under 18 - Free

Trap, Skeet & Archery

Site also includes a Trap and Skeet field AND an Archery range

Prices for a round (27 clays) of Trap or Skeet are:

  • Adults - $7
  • Active Duty Military and Law Enforcement - $6
  • Under 18 - $6

Prices for use of the Archery range are:

  • Adults - $5
  • Active Duty Military and Law Enforcement - $3
  • Under 18 - Free

Shooting distance

Maximum distance of 200 yards at the Main Rifle and Pistol Range (which is dedicated to the memory of, and honors Ensign John C. Butler)

Allowable firearms

All except for the .50 BMG cal. Full auto is allowed. Shotguns shooting slugs only on the Main Rifle and Pistol Range; i.e., no birdshot or buckshot is permitted.

Ammunition

All except armor piercing, incendiary, tracer and exploding ammunition. No birdshot or buckshot is allowed on the Main (200 yard) and Training (50 yard) ranges.

Targets

Users may bring their own paper targets. Target frames are provided. Steel targets are not allowed. Targets may also be purchased at the range from the Retail Store and Check-In located inside the Main Building, if necessary.

Other

Ear and eye protection is required. These items may also be purchased at the range from the Retail Store and Check-In located inside the Main Building, if needed.

Drawing and shooting from a holster are not permitted on the 200-yard Ensign John C. Butler Main Range.

Concessions

The facility does have a drink vending machine in the retail store. The machine contains soft drinks and water - no food or snack items are available to date.

Range contact information

Email: asrpajoefossrange@gmail.com

Volunteers needed

The General Joe Foss Shooting Complex is owned by Maricopa County Parks & Rec, operated by the Arizona State Rifle and Pistol Association, and run by an all-volunteer staff. This is a great opportunity for people who have time to help others enjoy the shooting sports. Please email asrpajoefossrange@gmail.com for information and details regarding volunteer opportunities.

Fee Payment Options Credit/Debit cards ONLY are accepted for payment of fees and merchandise at the General Joe Foss Shooting Complex.  Pay Fees in advance by Credit or Debit Card HERE 
Web site design and development by Americaneagle.com
Close